Sunday, March 31, 2013

Anna Black - Thinking About My Man

Anna Black - Thinking About My Man
Epic Records BN-26444 (1969)

Side One
1. St. James Infirmary Blues
2. This Train
3. Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child
4. Little Bitty Bullfrog
5. Market Man

Side Two
1. Thinkin' About My Man
2. Devil Man
3. 40 Years Sufferin'
4. Hound Dog
5. Death Bed Blues

Anna Black - vocals
Jerry Scheff - bass
Jim Gordon - drums
David Cohen - guitar
James Burton - guitar
Larry Knechtel - piano
Bill Byers - trombone
Dick Noel - trombone
Kenny Shroyer - trombone
Lou Blackburn - trombone
Mike Wimberly - trombone
Milt Bernhart - trombone
Bobby Bryant - trumpet
Marion Childers - trumpet
Harry Edison - trumpet
Larry McGuire - trumpet
Stanley Fishelson - trumpet
John Johnson - tuba


  1. The Beach Boys - Spirit of America

    Roberta Ballard Production Coordination
    Jeff Barry Composer
    The Beach Boys Primary Artist, Producer
    Hal Blaine Drums
    Chuck Britz Engineer, Mixing
    Glen Campbell Guest Artist, Guitar
    Frank Capp Executive Producer, Percussion
    Roger "Hot Dog Rog" Christian Composer
    Roger Christian Composer
    Jerry Cole Guitar
    Al DeLory Piano
    Steve Desper Engineer, Mixing
    Reggie Dunbar Composer
    Gene Estes Percussion
    Fred Fassert Composer
    Bobby Freeman Composer
    Jim Gordon Percussion
    Ellie Greenwich Composer
    Bill Halverson Mixing
    Steve Hoffman Mastering
    Al Jardine Choir/Chorus, Vocals
    Bruce Johnston Unknown Contributor Role, Vocals
    Carol Kaye Bass
    Barney Kessel Guest Artist, Guitar
    John Lennon Composer
    Morris Levy Composer
    Jim Lockert Engineer, Mixing
    Mike Love Composer, Vocals
    Frank Lymon Composer
    Frankie Lymon Composer
    David Marks Unknown Contributor Role, Vocals
    Paul McCartney Composer
    Keith McConnell Illustrations
    Marcia McGovern Pre-Production
    Bob Mould Composer
    Bill Pitman Bass
    Ray Pohlman Bass
    Doc Pomus Composer
    Don Randi Piano
    Lyle Ritz Bass
    Leon Russell Guest Artist, Piano
    Joe Sherman Composer
    Noel Sherman Composer
    Mort Shuman Composer
    Phil Spector Composer
    Billy Strange Guitar
    Tommy Tedesco Guitar
    Bobby Troup Composer
    Gary Usher Composer
    Julius Wechter Bass
    Brian Wilson Arranger, Composer, Guitar, Keyboards, Producer, Vocals
    Carl Wilson Composer, Guitar, Keyboards, Producer, Vocals
    Dennis Wilson Vocals
    Murry Wilson Producer

  2. John Phillips ‎– Jack Of Diamonds
    Varèse Sarabande ‎– 302 066 819 2 (2007)

    Track Listing:
    1 John Phillips – Devil's On The Loose
    2 John Phillips – Mister Blue
    3 John Phillips – Black Broadway
    4 John Phillips – Chinatown
    5 John Phillips – Too Bad
    6 John Phillips – Marooned (Double Parked)
    7 John Phillips – Jack Of Diamonds (Me And My Uncle)
    8 John Phillips – Revolution On Vacation
    9 John Phillips – Campy California (Aerospace)
    10 John Phillips – Cup Of Tea (Skyjacked)
    11 John Phillips – Yesterday I Left The Earth
    12 John Phillips – Stepping To The Stars / Penthouse Of Your Mind
    13 John Phillips – Flawless Space (Instrumental)
    Bonus Tracks
    14 John Phillips – Last Of The Unnatural Acts
    15 John Phillips – First And Last Thing You Do (Holland Tunnel)
    16 Mamas & The Papas, The – Fantastic Four
    17 Mamas & The Papas, The – Honeymoon (No Dough)
    18 John Phillips – Me And My Uncle

    Bass – James Hughart, Joe Osborn, Tony Newton
    Drums – Ed Greene, Hal Blaine, Jim Gordon
    Guitar – David T. Walker, Don Peake, Eric Hord, Larry Carlton, Louie Shelton, William Richardson
    Harmonica – Peter Ivers
    Keyboards – Joe Sample, Kathleen Vantrease, Van Dyke Parks
    Orchestrated By [Arrangements] – Gene Page, George Wilkins, Olivia Page
    Percussion – Alan Estes, Bobbye Hall, Gary Coleman
    Saxophone – Bobby Keys, Jim Horn, Wilton Felder
    Steel Guitar [Pedal] – Orville "Red" Rhodes
    Vocals – Bill Cleary (tracks: 16, 17), Cass Elliot (tracks: 16, 17), Denny Doherty (tracks: 16, 17), Michelle Phillips (tracks: 16, 17), Terry Melcher (tracks: 16, 17)
    Vocals, Keyboards, Guitar, Written-By – John Phillips

  3. Here is one more:
    Pachuco ‎– Pachuco
    Eagle Record Company LPS 3132 (1974)


    A1. Sangria
    A2. Funky Flamenco
    A3. Bugaloo Sonata
    A4. Pavane
    A5. Malaguena
    Written By – E. Lacuona

    B1. Pachuco
    B2. John's Wedding
    B3. Gypsy Blues
    B4. Minuet In C
    B5. Zambra
    Written By – Ruben Romero

    Arranged By – Peter Tevis, Ruben Romero
    Producer – Peter Tevis

    Musicianship and good feelings came from Santa Fe, New Mexico by way of RUBEN ROMERO, who played all the guitars. Foot work, hand claps, finger snaps, enchiladas, and dynamism were provided by VICENTE ROMERO. The gypsy vocalist is CHININ DE TRIANA, and the electric bass was played by MAX BENNETT and LENNY LA BLANC. JIMMY GORDON played drums on "Pachuco" and "Funky Flamenco." Drums on "Malaguena," "Sangria," and "Zambra" were played by HAL BLAINE, and JIMMY EVANS played on "Bugaloo Sonata" and "John's Wedding." CLAYTON IVEY played keyboards and did the string and woodwind arrangements. Trumpeters were BEN CAULEY (who is featured with Ruben on "Gypsy Blues") and HARRISON CALLAWAY. CHARLES ROSE played tombone. RONNIE EADES played baritone sax, and HARVEY THOMPSON, tenor sax.
    Have a nice day.

  4. MIDNIGHT STRING QUARTET - Spanish Rhapsodies for Young Lovers
    VIVA RECORDS V-6004 (1967)

    A1. The Lonely Bull
    A2. Meditation
    A3. La Paloma
    A4. Maria Elena
    A5. Guantanamera
    A6. Summer Samba

    B1. El Relicario
    B2. Our Day Will Come
    B3. Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars
    B4. The Girl From Ipanema
    B5. Cuando Calienta El Sol (Love Me With All Your Heart)
    B6. Spanish Eyes

    RYAN SELBERG cello
    GLEN HARDIN piano, guitar
    MICHEL RUBINI harpsichord
    JIM GORDON drums