Friday, October 19, 2012

Crosby, Stills & Nash - Crosby, Stills & Nash

Crosby, Stills & Nash - Crosby, Stills & Nash
Atlantic Records SD-8229 (1969)

Side One
1. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes
2. Marrakesh Express
3. Guinnevere
4. You Don't Have To Cry
5. Pre-Road Downs

Side Two
1. Wooden Ships
2. Lady Of The Island
3. Helplessly Hoping
4. Long Time Gone
5. 49 Bye-Byes

David Crosby - guitar, vocals
Stephen Stills - guitar, bass, organ, piano, percussion, vocals
Graham Nash - vocals, percussion, guitar
Dallas Taylor - drums, percussion
Jim Gordon - drums
Cass Elliot - vocals


  1. The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band - Volume 3 - A Child's Guide To Good And Evil - 1968

    Bob Markley: vocals
    Shaun Harris: vocals, bass
    Ron Morgan: guitar
    Jim Gordon: drums

  2. Oliver Nelson - Black, Brown and Beautiful

  3. 1976
    Dirt, Silver & Gold
    (United Artists UA-LA 670-L3-1198)
    Producer: William E. McEuen

    John McEuen: banjo, mandolin, fiddle, guitar, accordion, piano, vocals
    Jeff Hanna: guitar, bass, drums, vocals
    Jimmy Fadden: harmonica, guitar, drums, bass, vocals
    Jim Ibbotson: guitar, mandolin, drums, piano, bass, vocals

    Les Thompson: guitar, mandolin, bass, vocals
    John Cable: guitar, vocals
    Jackie Clark: bass
    Chris Darrow: guitar, mandolin, fiddle, bass, vocals
    Ralph Barr: guitar, vocals
    Bruce Kunkel: guitar, vocals

    Jim Gordon: drums / Russ Kunkel: drums / Byron Berline: fiddle / John Sandlin / Michel Rubini: keyboards / Maurice Manseau II: drums / Earl Scruggs: banjo, guitar, vocals / Gary Scruggs: guitar, vocals / Randy Scruggs: guitar, vocals / Norman Blake: dobro / Vassar Clements: fiddle / Doc Watson: guitar, vocals / Roy Huskey: bass / Bernie Mysior: guitar / Bob Carpenter: keyboards, vocals / Bob Mason: guitar / Brian Savage: flute / David James Holster: guitar, vocals / Hayden Gregg

    Buy For Me The Rain (Steve Noonan / Greg Copeland) / Melissa (Jackson Browne) / Collegiana (J. McHugh / D. Fields) / Mournin' Blues (A. Sbarbaro) / Willie The Weeper (G. V. Rymal / W. Melrose / M. Bloom) / Mr. Bojangles (Jerry Jeff Walker) / Some Of Shelly's Blues (Michael Nesmith) / The Cure (Jeff Hanna) / House At Pooh Corner (Kenny Loggins) / Randy Lynn Rag (Earl Scruggs) / Clemente Opus 36 (John) (traditional) / Livin' Without You (Randy Newman) / Sixteen Tracks (Jeff Hanna / Jim Ibbotson) / Fish Song (Jimmie Fadden) / Creepin' Round YOur Back Door (Jimmie Fadden) / Honky Tonkin' (Hank Williams) / Togary Mountain (Walter McEuen) / Soldier's Joy (traditional) / Ripplin' Waters (Jim Ibbotosn) / You Are My Flower (A. P. Carter) / Battle Of New Orleans (Jimmy Driftwood) / (All I Have To Do Is) Dream (D. Bryant) / Rocky Top (Felice & Boudleaux Bryant) / Gavotte No. 2 (traditional) / Jamaica Lady (David James Holster) / Mother Earth (Provides For Me) (Eric Kaz) / Falling Down Slow (Jimmie Fadden) / Bowlegs (Jeff Hanna) / Doc's Guitar (Doc Watson) / Bayou Jubilee - Sally Was A Goodun (Jeff Hanna / John McEuen / Jimmie Fadden / Jim Ibbotson) / Cosmic Cowboy Part 1 (Michael Murphy) / Win Or Lose (Walter McEuen) / Woody Woodpecker (G. Tibbles / R. Idriss) / Visiting An Old Friend (Casey Kelly) / Will The Circle Be Unbroken (A. P. Carter) / Foggy Mountain Breakdown (Earl Scruggs)



  6. J.J. Light - Heya (1969 us, magnificent psychedelic native rock, Sir Douglas side man)

    Jim Stallings was a singer, songwriter, and guitarist who had been knocking around the Los Angeles music scene for a few years when he met Bob Markley, a wealthy hipster and producer who had worked with the West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band. Markley took Stallings under his wing, scored him a record deal, and christened him with a new stage name, J.J. Light, which was imagined to better fit his Native American heritage.

    J.J. Light scored an international hit single with 1969's "Heya," and the album of the same title sold respectably in Europe, Scandinavia, and South America, but for some reason the LP was never released in the United States, and a follow-up recorded later the same year was never released at all; Stallings became a member of Doug Sahm's Sir Douglas Quintet, joining in time to play bass on the classic Together After Five album.

    This release from the U.K.-based Sunbeam Records features the Heya! LP in full along with 11 songs recorded for Light's unreleased second album, only one of which ("Kent State Massacre") has previously surfaced. Heya! is an engaging exercise in psychedelia lite; Stallings' songs are strong and to the point while boasting radio-ready melodies alongside lyrics that often deal with Native American issues, and his vocals are gutsy and passionate without sounding ragged, recalling Johnny Rivers with an extra portion of soul.

    Stallings also had some fine help in the studio, including keyboard man Larry Knechtel, drummers Earl Palmer and Jim Gordon, and guitarists Gary Rowles and Ron Morgan (the former worked with Arthur Lee's 1969-1970 edition of Love, and the latter played in the West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band), and the music isn't afraid to cut deep while leaning toward the sunny side.

    The unreleased material was rescued from old acetates and the sound quality is flawed, but the songs and performances are as good if not better than what Stallings brought to his first album, and it's hard to imagine why work this good was forced to collect dust in the vaults for so long. Heya! certainly deserves a higher profile in Stallings' homeland, and until some American label picks this up for a stateside issue, Sunbeam's release gives his songs the hearing they clearly deserve, while Tim Forster's liner notes tell the story behind this music and J.J. Light's short-lived career.
    by Mark Deming

    1. Na Ru Ka - 3:01
    2. Silently Sleeping - 2:58
    3. Follow Me Girl - 3:02
    4. It's Wednesday - 2:31
    5. Until It Snows - 3:01
    6. The Electric Land Band - 1:25
    7. Hello, Hello, Hello - 2:31
    8. Heya - 3:10
    9. While the World Turns to Stone - 2:18
    10.Henry Glover - 2:11
    11.Hey Yo Hanna Wa - 2:14
    12.Indian Disneyland - 2:23
    13.Gallup, New Mexico - 1:56
    14.On the Road Now - 3:05
    15.Low Rider Rule - 2:37
    16.Running Bear (Richardson) - 2:31
    17.Rose Marie - 1:47
    18.A Thousand Years Old - 2:47
    19.Love Is Not a Game (Goldstein) - 2:16
    20.Power to the People - 3:03
    21.Kent State Massacre - 2:08
    22.Christine - 1:59
    23.Don't We All Get Lonely Sometimes? (Knight) - 3:25
    24.Have You Seen My Baby? (Newman) - 2:32
    25.Stuck in Prison - 1:58
    26.Heya - 2:36
    All Songs written by Jim Stallings except where noted.

    *Jim Stallings - Vocals, Bass, Guitar
    *Gary Rowles - Guitar
    *Ron Morgan - Guitar
    *Larry Knechtel - Piano, Organ
    *Joe Osborne - Bass
    *Jim Gordon - Drums
    *Earl Palmer - Drums